Civil Rights

More on Civil Rights

August 16, 2019 Page

In the November 2018 election, the American people demanded that their representatives in Washington fight for them and for what affects their lives on a day-to-day basis.  They entrusted us to draft and pass legislation to do such vital things as protecting their healthcare, lowering their drug prices, guarding their right to vote, and making government accountable to them. Leaders in the House have introduced important legislation on these issues and more.

August 15, 2019 Press Release

Washington, DC (August 15, 2019)— Congressman Elijah E. Cummings, U.S. Senators Ben Cardin and Chris Van Hollen, along with Congressmen Steny H. Hoyer, Dutch Ruppersberger, John Sarbanes, Anthony Brown, Jamie Raskin, and David Trone (all D-MD) sent a letter to Maryland Governor Larry Hogan requesting information regarding the State of Maryland’s efforts to address problems that occurred during the 2018 elections.

June 27, 2019 In The News

The U.S. Supreme Court is forbidding President Donald Trump's administration from adding a citizenship question to the 2020 census for now — drawing praise from elected officials in Maryland.

The Supreme Court on Thursday maintained a hold on the Trump administration's effort to add a citizenship question to the 2020 census, and the question's opponents say there's no time to revisit the issue before next week's scheduled start to the printing of census forms.

June 27, 2019 Press Release

Washington, D.C. (June 27, 2019) – Today, Congressman Elijah E. Cummings (MD-07) issued the following statement in response to the Supreme Court’s decision on partisan redistricting:

May 9, 2019 Press Release

Washington, D.C. (May 9, 2019) – Today, Congressman Elijah E. Cummings (MD-07) and Congresswoman Madeleine Dean (PA-04) introduced the Promoting Reentry through Education in Prisons (PREP) Act.  The legislation would ease the barriers to reentry by ensuring incarcerated individuals receive the educational opportunities they need to successfully reenter their communities upon release from federal prison.  Senator Brian Schatz (D-HI) introduced companion legislation in the Senate.

May 7, 2019 Press Release

Washington, DC (May 7, 2019) - Representative Elijah E. Cummings (D-MD), Representative John Katko (R-NY), and U.S. Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), the authors of the Harriet Tubman Tribute Act of 2019, issued the following statement:

April 11, 2019 Press Release

Washington, D.C. (April 11, 2019) – This week, Congressman Elijah E. Cummings (D-MD) and U.S. Senator Cory Booker (D-NJ), in recognition of Second Chance Month, introduced legislation to ease the barriers to re-entry for formerly incarcerated individuals.  The bicameral New Pathways Act provides more specific guidance for the Bureau of Prison to help individuals obtain federal identification documents upon release from prison, such as a driver’s license, birth certificate, Social Security card, photo ID or work authorization form.

March 14, 2019 In The News

Rep. Elijah Cummings said Thursday that he has “very serious questions” about whether U.S. Commerce Secretary Wilbur Ross was truthful in explaining how the Trump administration came to develop a census question about citizenship status.

February 7, 2019 Press Release

Washington, DC – U.S. Rep. Elijah Cummings (MD-7) and U.S. Rep. John Katko (NY-24) today reintroduced The Harriet Tubman Tribute Act, bipartisan legislation that directs the Secretary of the Treasury to place the likeness of Harriet Tubman on $20 Federal Reserve notes printed after December 31, 2020.

February 7, 2019 In The News

U.S. Rep. Elijah Cummings delivered a fiery speech Wednesday in which he shared a promise his 92-year-old mother asked from him on her death bed a year ago.